Return to Headlines

Red Hook Faculty Make the Mark in State Program 

NYS Master Teacher Program logoNew York State has 1,470 master teachers and master teachers emeritus combined, and eight of them are Red Hook faculty. 

The Master Teacher program in New York is designed to help teachers in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) grow professionally and collaborate with other teachers throughout the region and state. Participants engage in professional learning opportunities co-created by members of the Master Teacher program and their State University of New York (SUNY) counterparts.  

This year, Gov. Kathy Hochul expanded the program to include counselors. The goal is to provide an innovative, engaging and supportive learning environment for students. 

Participants are selected by a “rigorous, multi-step application process,” according to the Master Teacher Program website. 

Master Teachers must participate in at least 50 hours of program-created learning activities in addition to any requirements from the district and state and must maintain a rating of “Effective” or “Highly Effective” on their annual evaluations. Upon completion of the four-year program, participants are designated as Master Teacher Emeritus and may continue to participate in subsequent program years.  

Red Hook has six Master Teacher Emeritus: Larra Agate, Deborah Beam, Mackenzie Dabo, Beth Goldberg, Jason Pavlich and Yvonne Pierce. In addition, Kathryn Whittaker is a Master Teacher and professional learning team facilitator, helping to lead programming; and Amanda Stoddard is a Master Teacher. Plus, two retirees were also recognized as Master Teacher Emeritus – Deborah Mosher and Janet Saltzman. 

Congratulations to all our faculty who have either completed or are on their way to completing the program. Your commitment to your profession and our students is exemplary!